What I Really Learned This Year in Kindergarten.

So this will be the end of my 5th year in kindergarten.  I will be repeating kindergarten again next year (and the year after that, and the year after that…) but oh man this year I will be ugly crying on the last day.

The students, this staff and these families have been incredible.  The class of 2016-17 have made some huge academic and social gains.  Heads up elementary schools-we are sending 360 kindergartners onto first grade that will be ready to tackle the world!  But more importantly this class has taught me about kindness, caring and the ability to persevere through anything.

One of our favorite dance party songs this year sums up everything I learned in kindergarten-so thank you Shakira for putting my thoughts into words.

I still mess up but I’ll just start again.  I keep falling down, I keep on hitting the ground.  I always get up now to see what’s next.

Kindergarten is all about learning and finding sparks to inspire and encourage.  The staff at #WoodsonK come in everyday with new ideas and new ways to cultivate our littlest learners into academic rock stars.  From the greenhouse to play centers teachers continue to find new ways to support and encourage students in meeting the essential learning outcomes while finding joy and celebrating the everyday steps of success. As the principal I learned by watching others take risks in their teaching practices and loved seeing the joy on the student’s faces when the learning clicked!

Coding Club continues to be one of my favorite parts of the year.  Watching students create code and program robots reminded me that learning can be such a motivator when you have a strong relationship with whom you are teaching.  Teaching students while leading a building gives you the day to day perspective that you can loose if you only lead from the office.

Look how far you’ve come, you filled your heart with love.

This class taught me so much about compassion.  Every morning when I greeted each class I was greeted right back with “you have a great day” “I love your dress” “I am excited about coding club” or other words of encouragement.  You can learn a lot through a hug, a smile and a high five from a five year old.

 

I’ll keep on making those new mistakes, I’ll keep on making them every day. 

In the book Lead Like A Pirate one of my favorite quotes was:

You never actually arrive at greatness; it is a moving target, a lifelong pursuit.

To the class, staff and families of 2017-18 thank you for raising the bar for me and teaching me to make those mistakes.  I learned through and with each of you this year!

Keep Dreaming Big for our Littlest Learners!

Jessica

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

