Why I Lead #SAVMP

leading 400 kindergartners during the 2014 Holiday Sing

I have been reading all the amazing leader’s posts on #SAVMP on why they lead.  These leaders are inspiring, articulate and focused on why they do what they do and I am excited to be a small part of this large and important work.

So why do I lead?

 

  (This younger version of me was probably not thinking ‘hmmmm when I grow up I want to lead a building of almost 400 5 and 6 year olds).

I lead because….

…I am up for the challenge!

Summer 2015 Lifetime Triathlon (participant medal)

In my life I have run marathons, half marathons, triathlons, duathlons and other events.  In all those events I have never once won or even placed in these races….nor will I probably ever.  I don’t do these races because of wanting to ‘win’, I do these races because I like the challenge of doing something I never thought I could.  The principalship has similar traits for me.  I am honored to play a small part of the big challenges  that lies in front of educators.  When challenges are in front of me I get excited connecting with other leaders and working together to find solutions.

 

…….I love to laugh.

image

Humor has helped me through many circumstances, challenges and celebrations on the job-and in life.  Leading to me is about finding joy in the moment and celebrating successes with students, families and staff.  If you need further proof of this-please see my debut as a backup singer for Koo Koo Kangaroo Roo….

 

………I have been called to do this work.

All of my experiences in life have prepared me to do this wonderfully important work.  And I am ready to say I am up for the challenge!

 

Dreaming Big for our Smallest Learners,

Jessica

2 thoughts on “Why I Lead #SAVMP

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

